Read Recent Journals
Entered By: Mark
Entry Date: 2008-12-17 11:50:36
Subject: Wednesday December 17, 2008
Message:
 

     Yesterday we started by leaving for Comayagua where our little truck, Alfredito, had some repairs and we also needed to fix the registration. After that we drove on to Tegucigalpa to pick up Matt and Kim Page, whom will be helping us here for the next four weeks. We left home about 8 AM and returned at 5 PM on that trip.      "Is that all I get for my mission dollar donation?" you ask. Nay, nay, nay my friend. The day was half over. Then it was pick up the matriarch of Christmas, my mother. She was flying in to San Pedro Sula, which is located roughly on the other side of Honduras from Tegucigalpa. We are in the middle. Her flight was scheduled to arrive at 1 AM on Spirit Air, but engine problems, loose wires, flat tires and a shortage of coffee filters delayed the flight until 3 AM. So, return we did and arrived back home at 5 AM.       Today we are preparing for our big Christmas party tomorrow. I am smoking a ham and cooking other culinary kickshaws.  The only notable absence from our holiday spread is fried remora, which I've not found a recipe for.       Yes, I am still trying to incorporate Merriam Webster's word of the day into complete sentences. Remora is a class of fish equipped with a suction cup to attach to other fish. It is also used to describe a hindrance or drag. As in, "Aw Mike, just go to the party; don't be such a remora". Or, "Uhh, John, did you know there was a remora on your head?"
Replies to this message
re: Wednesday December 17, 2008  by Mike Jones on Thursday December 18, 2008
     re: Wednesday December 17, 2008  by Mark on Sunday December 21, 2008




Read Recent Journals

Other messages by Mark
Dad  by Mark on Tuesday October 23, 2018
Perfect Guy Breakfast  by Mark on Saturday September 29, 2018
Perfect Guy Breakfast  by Mark on Tuesday July 24, 2018
re: New Server  by Mark on Monday July 02, 2018
New Server  by Mark on Tuesday May 29, 2018
Repairing and Painting  by Mark on Tuesday May 29, 2018
Summer  by Mark on Tuesday May 22, 2018
Inbound  by Mark on Saturday January 27, 2018
Monday December 25, 2017  by Mark on Monday December 25, 2017
Kids Home  by Mark on Saturday December 16, 2017

See other journal entries

1151