Read Recent Journals
Entered By: Mark
Entry Date: 2006-03-26 23:40:02
Subject: Sunday March 26, 2006
Message:
 

Internet is working well, but our phone "gizmo" is not. Not to worry, Yahoo has a solution. Using a handy $3 headset, we are able to make calls via Internet to any telephone. It's nothing short of miraculous that we have a computer hooked up to a modem that's hooked to a satellite dish, that fires waves into space to a satellite, that sends the signal back down to the ground somewhere, where it is received, shot through the Internet, the phone network (probably another satellite link or more there) and ends up on a telephone... all for 2 cents per minute. But it also might explain why the sound is sometimes wacky. Things are so much simpler in Honduras. If you want to talk to someone, you walk down to the highway, wait for a bus and ride to your friend's house; which is probably the third shack after the second team of oxen tied to a fence post. We are finally posting photos! Now that we have some 20th century technology in our little casa, we have enough time to share our experience with you in full color. Click on the "Photos" link to see what's up.
Replies to this message
re: Sunday March 26, 2006  by Michael & Janice Pruett on Wednesday March 29, 2006




Read Recent Journals

Other messages by Mark
Frozen Pizza Night  by Mark on Tuesday October 23, 2018
Perfect Guy Breakfast  by Mark on Saturday September 29, 2018
Perfect Guy Breakfast  by Mark on Tuesday July 24, 2018
re: New Server  by Mark on Monday July 02, 2018
New Server  by Mark on Tuesday May 29, 2018
Repairing and Painting  by Mark on Tuesday May 29, 2018
Summer  by Mark on Tuesday May 22, 2018
Inbound  by Mark on Saturday January 27, 2018
Monday December 25, 2017  by Mark on Monday December 25, 2017
Kids Home  by Mark on Saturday December 16, 2017

See other journal entries

1128