Read Recent Journals
Entered By: Paula
Entry Date: 2007-08-25 18:44:17
Subject: Garden
Message:
 

We have really been enjoying eating all of the things we have been growing. Lately we have had just an abundance of tomatoes, green beans, and carrots.  With the tomatoes we have made spaghetti sauce/pizza sauce to freeze, tomato preserves, and chismol at every meal.  Chismol is tomato, bell pepper, and onion chopped finely, with lemon and seasonings.  The kids also eat the tomatoes for snacks.   With the green beans we have been eating them and selling them.  They sell for 5 lemps a bag or pound.  Not much.  But we are able to sell them right here so it is not trouble.   Everyone is able to eat carrots for snack all the time.  Most of the kids run around with them for snack.   We also have an abundance of cabbage (which is used a lot here), basil, corn, black and red beans (harvesting now), jalepenos, broccoli, and swiss chard.   So we are swimming in veggies. The moras contiue to produce so we can make preserves and mora juice.   We are blessed with the fruit of the land! Paula
Replies to this message
re: Garden  by Phyllis Wilson on Sunday August 26, 2007
re: Garden  by Lauren Rutter on Saturday August 25, 2007




Read Recent Journals

Other messages by Paula
Lenten season  by Paula on Saturday March 04, 2017
re: Justice  by Paula on Saturday March 04, 2017
A smidge of realization  by Paula on Saturday January 21, 2017
re: Tuesday January 17, 2017  by Paula on Thursday January 19, 2017
Rock on God  by Paula on Thursday January 19, 2017
Tuesday January 17, 2017  by Paula on Tuesday January 17, 2017
Tough one  by Paula on Tuesday November 22, 2016
Prayers for Carlitos  by Paula on Friday November 04, 2016
Christmas opportunity!  by Paula on Sunday October 30, 2016
Saturday October 15, 2016  by Paula on Saturday October 15, 2016

See other journal entries

937